Come to Pandora

These past few days have been especially spectacular… I've been driving through Avatar-land! The scenery defies capture, either by word or camera.

I drove several hours yesterday through various landscapes, from the coast through farms into mountains and finally to beautiful Lake Taupo in the southern center of the North Island. Today I drove to the coastal town of Napier and I crossed the mythical line during that trip! I know I went through Pandora, the land where the Avatar morphed into reality.

I seriously talked to myself during most of that drive, trying to find the perfect combination of words to give you the vision I saw and I tried to photograph. Not something to be 'captured'… Think of the scenes from that movie, and though the land is from the producer's imagination, it entered that person's mind, I suspect, via the country I crossed today. There were breath-taking moments and there were quiet sections like the cutoff I took – because it was there – which led down to a truly crystal stream flowing over small flat rocks. (Was America once this clear and clean? What have we done to our world?)

And then there was the 'oh holy poop (children may be listening) ' when I pulled off to find a triple water fall with a secondary one to the side!

The route was primarily two-lane with 100kh 'limit' through hairpin curves to straight aways and back to hairpins, up into mountains and down into empty valleys. Not much traffic – most of the trip I felt alone on a fabulous drive!

I took photos – again and again – hoping to find that perfect shot to show you the wonder of this landscape but it was not to be. I'll publish a few to give you a glimpse but please know there really is no method but the personal viewing.

In this spectacular landscape, there are colors in green combinations I only saw automatically until recently when learned about color in art classes… From yellow-green through many mutations to blue-green including silver and bronze tones and shades across the board.

And the textures! Agh…. So much variation!

OK, you get it. Come to New Zealand and see for yourself 'cause there's no way I could paint this for you to see. I can hardly describe it in words and I know how to write better than I paint :-)!

 

4 thoughts on “Come to Pandora

  1. Loved the movie Avatar so I can only imagine how beautiful your drive, view and experience must be. Living vicariously through you. I look forward to reading and seeing more. Hugs

  2. Without wishing to sound sycophantic, Ria you are amazing. The thought of driving alone all that way in a foreign country would put the willies up me. I don’t think I could do it. I manage 250 miles at the most.
    The photos are terrific am really enjoying the blog. Although Avatar reference are over my head I’m afraid.
    Take care.
    Alison

    1. Alison, the reference is to the movie “Avatar” which was a huge hit in US and most of us at least know some of the story even if we haven’t seen it. The scenery in that movie was stunning! If you have a little time, do Google Avatar and I think you’ll see what I’m talking about.

      Thanks for your kind comments! Love hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

