Early departure from Siena and on to Pienza!

Seven days and eight nights in Siena was grand and though I was enrolled for two more nights, I decided to leave early and move to the countryside for a few tranquil days before starting art class when I arrive in Cortona on Sunday.  

I’m here in Pienza “….a town and comune in the province of Siena, in the Val d’Orcia in Tuscany…the touchstone of Renaissance urbanism. In 1996, UNESCO declared the town a World Heritage site, and in 2004 the entire valley – Val d’Orcia – was included on the list of UNESCO’s World Cultural Landscapes”.  For quick info on this or any place else mentioned in my blog, you can find it on Wikipedia…seriously!  It’s a great site for getting an easy snap shot along with a couple professional pix.  In fact, maybe I should just refer readers to Wiki places and skip sending pix!  Nah, more fun for me to add personal touch and you can get expanded coverage at Wiki if you wish.

Staying in a fabulous b&b over looking the Val d’Orcia with Pienza behind me.

   
           

Photos….views from my patio here in Pienza – sunset and sunrise, pix of stops along the way and “ordinary” country scenes!  

 And look at the towns – Montepulciano and Pienza…how beautiful and how relatively empty!  Heavenly!!!  
  

                      

Isn’t this horse ring fantastic?!?  

Ciaoooooo!

5 thoughts on “Early departure from Siena and on to Pienza!

  1. I am so enjoying your posts. I feel like I am there. What an amazing adventure. Are you enjoying any special Italian meals or wine?

  2. What a great photo capture of you home land!!
    Are you feeling Italian? I think you need to move there….. Paint….. And let me come visit!!!

    1. So glad you are having this wonderful experience! I look forward to each and every one. I almost feel that I am there with you. Can’t believe a week has gone by already. Up until last year, I was a member of CC Museum of Art They have many excellent traveling exhibits, and I miss going. Right now one of my favorites, John Gurl, is there. But, I don’t leave the house much lately. Another reason for enjoying your travellog so much. Thank you.

  3. Ria,

    Wow! They are breathtaking pictures. How fortunate you are to see the beauty of This gorgeous countryside. Thanks for sharing.

    Sue

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

